POCKET TISSUES – THEY’RE COVERED

Tissue covers make no sense to my teen-aged son.
“Why would I need a fabric tissue cover?” he asks. “Pocket tissues already come in a plastic pouch.”
Despite his objections, I give him a new cover that I made from sheep-design fabric. The animals have pink ears that jut out and surprised looks on their faces. I imagine they are trying to hold back different sneezes.
I spend the morning making other covers, too, with cotton materials featuring pirates, cats, soccer balls, jack o-lanterns, beach umbrellas, coral, and seashells. My mother works at her sewing machine making several covers out of blue fabrics. They are fun to sew.

Without extra protection, my tissues swim at the bottom of my pocketbook amongst pencils, loose change, and discarded candies. If someone needs a tissue, I end up fumbling blindly around in my purse, withdrawing a crumpled mess and flapping the paper hanky out to see if the surface is dirty. But a fabric cover saves me from that embarrassment. I keep my clean stack double protected by slipping the tissues and their plastic cover inside the fabric case.

The fabric pockets also provide an attractive way to display tissues on the vanity of a guest bedroom or bathroom, in a public work space, on a teacher’s desk, or in the glove compartment of a car for use during travel. They give people a dignified package to draw tissues from during emotional public events such as weddings, funerals, and graduations.
Once my son carries his sheep-covered tissues in his school backpack for a week, he’ll agree the paper hankies are better protected in the fabric pouch and less likely to escape from their package or to become wadded up and loose.
The decorative covers make great gifts for the homebound and the sick as well as students going off to college. They also make great stocking stuffers.

–cawk

https://www.etsy.com/shop/ChatterboxBeach

Leave a comment