Daily Archives: January 13, 2017

FINGERLESS GLOVE FRENZY

img_7217

During a recent snowstorm, I called to check on my sister.

“What are you doing?” I asked after hearing her frazzled “Hello.”

“My electricity just went out,” she said. “I’m knitting in the dark.”

“How?” I asked.

She was pearling and knitting in the glow of a strong, heavy-duty flashlight. The utility company estimated that her electricity would return in about three more hours, but she didn’t want to wait.

ChatterboxBeach was in the middle of a fingerless glove frenzy.

In December, we decided that we didn’t do enough crafting as a group in 2016. Working on individual projects was OK, but we missed having a mutual focus where we could feed off each other’s creativity and energy.

Each of us pledged to make fingerless gloves in January. My sister was not about to disappoint.

We chose fingerless gloves because they are fun to make and provide great warmth in the coldest months of the year. Sometimes I wear mine in the house when I’m doing housework or typing on the computer because my hands get cold in the winter.

During holiday travels, we saw many people wearing fingerless gloves. One lady was wearing a beautiful pair cuffed with fur in the train station. Because her fingers were free, she could scroll and type on her cell phone without any trouble. We were delighted to see that our server at a fast food drive-thru wore a pair of purple fingerless gloves as she passed our order of country ham biscuits and sweet tea though the window. In addition, I gave a warm pair of hand-knit gloves away as a gift. Fingerless gloves are most appreciated when wind chill temperatures dip into the single digits.

Although my mom, sisters and I are knitting in separate towns, the knitting frenzy keeps us close. We delight each time one of us posts a pair online. Each set evokes an emotion. My sister and I ironically purchased the same color yarn and are using similar simple patterns to make our gloves. Mom’s pattern features a more intricate cable design. She went rogue and knitted adorable hats embellished with flowers, too.

My house is drafty, but I’m staying warm this January. I’ve got my yarn and needles in hand for the family knitting frenzy – and I’m wearing my own pair of fingerless gloves as I work.

https://www.etsy.com/shop/ChatterboxBeach?ref=search_shop_redirect

–Caroline at ChatterboxBeach