Knowing how to knit doesn’t mean you can make a scart

KNOWING HOW TO KNIT DOESN’T MEAN YOU CAN MAKE A SCARF
My mom introduced me to a new yarn called Sashay.
All of her friends are knitting scarves with the boutique yarn from Red Heart.
I was so excited. I could make a scarf with only one ball of yarn, casting on only 8 stitches and the final fashion piece would have ruffles. I love ruffles!
I knitted and knitted and knitted.
“Is it supposed to look like this?” I asked my mom, who was busy making retro burlap flowers.
“She looked up from across the room.
“Yes,” she said after a long pause.
So I knitted some more and knitted some more and knitted some more.
“I don’t think this is right,” I said, holding up my “scarf,” which looked more like a bell. It was going nowhere.
“Maybe I could wear it as a tie or some kind of bow,” I said.
My mom stopped making her flowers and found the scarf she made to compare. It was full of flowing ruffles.
“You’re not doing it right,” she said.
I ripped out my rows and started again.
I made another bell.
Neither one of us knows what I’m doing wrong.
“Just Google it or look on Youtube,” she said.
I’d rather learn from one of her friends.
But I guess it’s time to “Sashay” myself over to the computer and search for answers.
QUESTION: WHAT CAN YOU LEARN FROM A YEAR OF CRAFTING WITH FAMILY?

LESSON ON DAY 8: KNOWING HOW TO KNIT DOESN’T MEAN YOU CAN MAKE A SCARF.
QUESTION OF THE DAY: How do you knit a scarf with Sashay yarn?
PROGRESS: Several more dishcloth sets are complete.

http://www.ChatterboxBeach.etsy.com

Leave a comment